population. There are 336 villages and 1,132 townships and parishes. A small number of these are independent of the counties in which they are located. The Municipal Code governs local municipalities, and the 42 cities and 152 towns have special Acts. The supervision and assistance of municipalities is through the Department of Municipal Affairs and the Quebec Municipal Commission. Municipal statistics are gathered by the Quebec Bureau of Statistics.

Ontario.—Slightly more than one-tenth of the area of Ontario is municipally organized and the remainder is governed entirely by the provincial government. The older section of the province is divided into 43 counties, five of which are united with others for administrative purposes. Each county, although it is an incorporated municipality, is comprised of the towns, villages and townships situated within its borders, and these provide its revenue. The Municipality of Metropolitan Toronto encompasses one city, four towns, three villages and five townships. There are 29 cities, 157 towns, 154 villages, 573 townships and 24 improvement districts in the province. Some of each are located in the northern districts which are not organized into counties. Supervisory control of municipalities is exercised by the Department of Municipal Affairs and the Ontario Municipal Board under the Municipal Act and other Acts governing aspects of municipal government.

Manitoba.—Manitoba has six cities, which derive their powers from special Acts and do not come under the supervision of the Department of Municipal Affairs. The Department supervises the 35 towns, 37 villages and 112 rural municipalities under the Municipal Act. There are local government districts in settled areas not within rural municipalities.

Saskatchewan.—All municipalities in Saskatchewan derive their powers from general Acts that are designated with the name of the type of municipality. There are 10 cities, 102 towns, 373 villages and 296 rural municipalities. The area so organized consists of most of the southern two-fifths of the province—the remainder of this portion is administered for local purposes by the province in unincorporated local improvement districts. The northern three-fifths is sparsely populated and without local government though some municipal services are provided by the province through operation of the Northern Administrative Area. Supervision of municipalities is in the hands of the Department of Municipal Affairs.

Alberta.—The province has an Act applying to each type of municipality, and under these Acts the Department of Municipal Affairs supervises the 9 cities, 86 towns, 152 villages, 38 municipal districts and 10 counties. The latter administer schools as well as municipal services.

British Columbia.—Less than one-half of 1 p.c. of the area of British Columbia is organized into municipalities. Additional small areas have sufficient population to require administration of local activities by the provincial government. There are 35 cities, 2 towns, 55 villages, and 30 districts; the latter are chiefly rural municipalities except for those adjacent to the principal cities of Victoria and Vancouver, which are largely urban in character. It should be emphasized, however, that the application of the name "city" is somewhat different from the commonly accepted meaning in that several of them have populations of fewer than 1,000 and perhaps one-half or more would not normally be incorporated as cities in another province. Legislation of 1957 provided for the incorporation of towns, and two villages attained this status at the beginning of 1958. Municipalities are supervised by the Department of Municipal Affairs.